MDST110-1 (Schedule # 3026T)
University of Virginia
Fall 2005
MW 2:00-3:15 :: 108 Clark Hall
Mr. David Golumbia
Office: 304B Bryan
Fall 2005 Office Hours: MW 9:45-10:45am, W 12:30-1:30pm, & by appt

Information Technology and Digital Media Studies

Links: Media Studies 110 main page - Media Studies 110 discussion & lab syllabus

Week-by-Week Syllabus with Reading, Assignments and Exams

Weds Aug 24.Class 0. Introduction
   No reading assignment.
Discussion and Lab Sections 0
   No reading assignment.

Mon Aug 29. Class 1. Media Studies
     Reading: Marshall McLuhan, "The Medium Is the Message" (toolkit)
Wed Aug 31. Class 2. Encoding and Decoding
     Reading: Stuart Hall, "Encoding/Decoding" (toolkit)
Discussion and Lab Sections 1
   Reading: Elizabeth Castro, HTML for the World Wide Web, Chapters 1-2

Mon Sep 05. Class 3. Digital Media Studies
     Reading: Howard Rheingold, Tools for Thought, Chapter 1
Wed Sep 07. Class 4. Reading the Digital
     Reading: Howard Rheingold, Tools for Thought, Chapters 2-3
Discussion and Lab Sections 2
   Reading: Elizabeth Castro, HTML for the World Wide Web, Chapters 3-4

Mon Sep 12. Class 5. Writing the Web
     Reading: Elizabeth Castro, HTML for the World Wide Web, Chapters 5-10
Wed Sep 14. Class 6. Visualizing the Web
   Reading: Elizabeth Castro, HTML for the World Wide Web, Chapters 11-19
Discussion and Lab Sections 3
   Reading: Elizabeth Castro, HTML for the World Wide Web, Chapters 20-26

Mon Sep 19. Class 7. Being in the Web
   Reading: MT Anderson, Feed, sections 1-3
Wed Sep 21. Class 8. Uploading
   Reading: MT Anderson, Feed, section 4
Discussion and Lab Sections 4
   No additional reading assignment

Mon Sep 26. Class 9. Distributed Computing
   Reading: Frank Miller, Ronin, Chapters 1-3
Wed Sep 28. Class 10. Computer Culture
   Reading: Frank Miller, Ronin, Chapters 4-6
Discussion and Lab Sections 5
   Reading: Howard Rheingold, Tools for Thought, Chapters 4-6
. Lab assignment 1 due during lab this week.

Mon Oct 03. No class. Reading day
Wed Oct 05. Class 11. The Human and the Computer
   Reading: Howard Rheingold, Tools for Thought, Chapters 7-9
Discussion and Lab Sections 6
   Reading: Howard Rheingold, Tools for Thought, Chapters 10-12

Mon Oct 10. Class 12. The Future of Computing
   Reading: Howard Rheingold, Tools for Thought, Chapters 13-end
Wed Oct 12. Midterm Exam. During regular class period; please bring a blue book to the exam. Click here for information about the midterm .
Discussion and Lab Sections 7
   No additional reading assignment

Mon Oct 17. Class 13. Knowing and Computing
   Reading: Alan Turing, "Computing Machinery and Intelligence" (toolkit)
Wed Oct 19. Class 14. Total Knowledge
   Reading: Vannevar Bush, "As We May Think" (toolkit)
Discussion and Lab Sections 8
   Reading: EM Forster, "The Machine Stops" (toolkit)


Mon Oct 24. Class 15. Situatedness
  Reading: Ellen Ullman, Close to the Machine, Chapters 0-5
Wed Oct 26. Class 16. The Machine
   Reading: Ellen Ullman, Close to the Machine, Chapters 6-9
Discussion and Lab Sections 9
   No additional reading assignment. Lab assignment 2 due during lab this week.

Mon Oct 31. Class 17. Sims
   Reading: Joseph Weizenbaum, "Introduction to Computer Power and Human Reason" (toolkit)
Wed Nov 02. Class 18. Playing Roles
   Reading: Sherry Turkle, "Video Games and Computer Holding Power" (toolkit)
Discussion and Lab Sections 10
    No additional reading assignment

Mon Nov 07. Class 19. The Role of Games
   Reading: Sherry Turkle, Life on the Screen, Parts I & II
Wed Nov 09. Class 20. Gaming Society
   Reading: Sherry Turkle, Life on the Screen, Part III
Discussion and Lab Sections 11
    No additional reading assignment

Mon Nov 14. Class 21. Future Society
   Reading: Michael Crichton, Prey, pp 1-177
Wed Nov 16.Class 22. Future Tech
   Reading: Michael Crichton, Prey, pp 178-end
Discussion and Lab Sections 12
     No additional reading assignment.

Mon Nov 21. No class. Thanksgiving holiday
Wed Nov 23. No class. Thanksgiving holiday
Discussion and lab sessions do not meet this week.

Mon Nov 28. Class 23. Progress
   Reading: Martin Heidegger, "The Question Concerning Technology" (toolkit)
Wed Nov 30. Class 24. Simulation
   Reading: Jean Baudrillard, excerpt from Simulations and Simulacra (toolkit)
Discussion and Lab Sections 13
    No additional reading assignment.
Lab assignment 3 due during lab this week.

Mon Dec 05. Class 25. Free Culture
   Reading: Lawrence Lessig, except from Free Culture (toolkit)

Sat Dec 10. Final Exam. 2:00pm-5:00pm (in regular lecture room, 108 Clark Hall). Please bring a blue book to the exam. Click here for final exam questions.


Last updated October 8, 2005 .

Valid XHTML 1.0!